“If you look at the history of AIM, it’s a history of becoming.”
-  Prof. Gaby Mendoza, AIM President (1978-1986) and Dean (1973-1986)


1966 Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle College, and the Philippine Inter-University Consortium receive the Ford Foundation’s US$ 1.2 million grant. A Harvard advisory group is sent to oversee implementation in Manila.
1968 The consortium and the Harvard group create the Asian Institute of Management. The Eugenio López Foundation donates PhP5 million for the construction of the main building. Ayala Corporation provides a one-hectare site in Makati.
1969 AIM admits its first students to the Master in Business Management (later renamed Master in Business Administration) program.
1970 AIM embarks on its first non-degree programs: the Air Transport Course and the eight-week Management Development Program for senior and middle managers.
1974 AIM launches the one-year Master in Management (MM) program and short-term executive development programs.
1975 President Ferdinand Marcos signs Presidential Decree 639, formalizing AIM’s international character and granting it prerogatives conducive to its growth as an international graduate school of management.
1978 AIM introduces the Rural Development Management Program with funding from The Ford Foundation.
1989 With financial support from the Canadian International Development Agency, the Master in Development Management program is offered for the first time.
1994 AIM and the Far East Bank and Trust Co. jointly launch the Gov. Jose B. Fernandez Jr. Center for Banking and Finance at AIM, in honor of the late Central Bank Governor.
1996 The AIM-W. SyCip Policy Forum (later renamed AIM Policy Center) is established.
1997 AIM is selected by the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific as a Center for Excellence in human resource development research and training.
AIM launches the Executive MBA (EMBA) program in Malaysia. It is the first AIM degree program to be offered outside the Philippines.
The AIM Conference Center is inaugurated by President Fidel V. Ramos.
1999 The AIM-Ramon V. del Rosario Sr. Center for Corporate Social Responsibility is founded with support from the Ford Foundation and PHINMA.
2002 AIM names its graduate school of business in honor of its founder and co-chairman, Washington SyCip.
2003 AIM launches the Asian Corporate Social Responsibility Awards to honor the best practices and principles of corporations in CSR.
2004 AIM and Zuellig Pharma Corporation establish the Dr. Stephen Zuellig Center for Asian Business Transformation.
The AIM-Mirant Center for Bridging Societal Divides is inaugurated. The center is later renamed the TeaM Energy Center for Bridging Leadership.
AIM becomes the first school in Southeast Asia to receive accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).
2007 AIM launches the redesigned 16-month MBA.
2008 AIM opens the Ramon V. del Rosario Sr.-CV Starr Center for Corporate Governance.
2012 AIM starts offering the Evening Executive MBA program.
AIM establishes the Dr. Andrew L. Tan Center for Tourism.
2014 Dr. Zuellig cemented the partnership with AIM by giving a generous donation to the Center for Development Management (CDM). In his honor, CDM was renamed the Stephen Zuellig Graduate School of Development Management (ZSDM or the Zuellig School).
2016 AIM launches the MSc in Innovation and Business for STEAM and reintroduces the Master in Entrepreneurship program.



1968 - Washington SyCip
1989 - 2011 Jose L. Cuisia, Jr.
2011 - Napoleon L. Nazareno



AIM’s first president, Dr. Stephen H. Fuller, expressed the two major goals that had been set by AIM―the first was to become an educational center for the training of managerial leadership; the second was the internationalization of AIM in cooperation with educators and businessmen of neighboring countries.

1968 - 1971 Stephen H. Fuller
1971 - 1972 James W. Culliton
1972 - 1978 Sixto K. Roxas
1978 - 1986 Gabino A. Mendoza
1991 - 1999 Felipe B. Alfonso
1999 - 2006 Roberto F. de Ocampo
2006 - 2009 Francis G. Estrada
2009 - 2012 Edilberto C. de Jesús
2012 - 2015 Steven J. DeKrey
2015 - present Jikyeong Kang



1973 - 1986 Gabino A. Mendoza
1986 - 1990 Gaston Z. Ortigas Sr.
1991 - 1995 Francisco P. Bernardo
1995 - 2000 Jesus G. Gallegos Jr.
2000 - 2002 Eduardo A. Morato Jr.
2002 - 2004 Nieves R. Confesor
2004 - 2005 Roberto F. de Ocampo
2005 - 2010 Victoria S. Licuanan
2010 - 2011 Edilberto C. de Jesús
2011 - 2014 Ricardo A. Lim
2015 - present Jikyeong Kang